Kernel_Killer
December 30th, 2002, 18:23
Well, I'll start out by saying I started using FreeBSD when 4.5 came out, and then let it go for some odd reason. So I started studying more on Linux. Just recently, my primary system, I had to RMA the CPU making it useless.

After messing with Mandrake enough to piss me off on another machine, I decided to switch OS'es. Knowning that only one Linux distro suited my needs, and never like to use the same OS on two machines, I decided to hit the FreeBSD path.

I went straight to the FreeBSD site, and started downloading 5.0 rc2. Popped it into the Drake box, and removed the the partitions, and started installing. After about an hour of installing the base, I went on to the configuration.

Within a 3 hour period, I started tearing through the configuration, setting up my desktop evironment, adding to the network, configuring the shell, installing other cool packages, recompiling my kernel, and compiling the NVidia drivers (Which work awesome in rc2!!!).

After just this little bit of configuration, I'm more than happy with my FreeBSD box, and think I will stick with it from now on (Not killing the other OS'es though on the other systems). 5.0 definatly made my head turn. Sorry it's not much of a testimonial, but I thought I'd share it.

|MiNi0n|
December 30th, 2002, 22:15
FreeBSD definately kicks arse on the desktop. The ports are phenomenal... speaking of which... maybe one day soon KrUsTy! will get around to posting that how-to he's been talking about to me for ages for using cvsupit and portupgrade to keep your box ultra current.

v902
December 30th, 2002, 23:59
Strange I came upon this thread as I am currently d/ling the ISO's ;)

bsdjunkie
December 31st, 2002, 10:53
and compiling the NVidia drivers (Which work awesome in rc2!!!).

Finally! Ill try it again as a desktop ;) b4, i was only using it with a voodoo3 card, but my main desktop currently has the GF4Ti4400, so its been hard :P

bsdjunkie
December 31st, 2002, 18:56