thedude
October 31st, 2003, 18:45
Hey ya'll. Decided 2 days ago to do a clean install of 3.3 on my firewall/DHCP server. pf is working fine, used the same one as last time but my Windows boxen can't seem to acquire an address from the 3.3 box. I get some error about my external interface (vr0) not having a subnet declaration in dhcpd.conf. Here's my dhcpd.conf. I am using the 192.168.2.x network behind my landlord's 192.168.1.x network. Any ideas?

$OpenBSD: dhcpd.conf,v 1.1 1998/08/19 04:25:45 form Exp $
#
# DHCP server options.
# See dhcpd.conf(5) and dhcpd(8) for more information.
#

#Network: 192.168.2.0/255.255.255.0
# Domain name: my.domain
# Name servers: 130.150.102.100 and 4.2.2.2
# Default router: 192.168.2.1
# Addresses: 192.168.1.32 - 192.168.1.127
#
shared-network LOCAL-NET {
option domain-name "my.domain";
option domain-name-servers 130.150.102.100, 4.2.2.2 ;
option netbios-name-servers 192.168.2.110;
option routers 192.168.2.1;
subnet 192.168.2.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {


range 192.168.2.2 192.168.2.7;
}
}

/etc/dhcpd.conf: unmodified: line 1

marco_peereboom
October 31st, 2003, 21:26
Make sure you have /etc/ dhcpd.interfaces file that contains the interface you want dhcpd to listen on. In my example it is fxp0

Here is mine:
[root@vuurmuur /etc] more dhcpd.interfaces
# $OpenBSD: dhcpd.interfaces,v 1.1 1998/08/19 04:25:45 form Exp $
#
# List of network interfaces served by dhcpd(8).
#
# ep0
# ed0 le0
# de1
fxp0

Here is my /etc/dhcpd.conf file.
[root@vuurmuur /etc] more dhcpd.conf
# $OpenBSD: dhcpd.conf,v 1.1 1998/08/19 04:25:45 form Exp $
#
# DHCP server options.
# See dhcpd.conf(5) and dhcpd(8) for more information.
#

# Network: 192.168.1.0/255.255.255.0
# Domain name: my.domain
# Name servers: 192.168.1.3 and 192.168.1.5
# Default router: 192.168.1.1
# Addresses: 192.168.1.32 - 192.168.1.127
#
shared-network LOCAL-NET {
option domain-name "peereboom.us";
option domain-name-servers 192.168.0.1;

subnet 192.168.0.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {
option routers 192.168.0.1;

range 192.168.0.100 192.168.0.250;
}
}

And lastly make sure that /etc/rc.conf contains the following entry:
dhcpd_flags="-q" # for normal use: "-q"

Reboot and you should be good.

optyk
October 31st, 2003, 21:27
try moving 'option routers' inside the braces:

[code:1:2b7576bb6c]
shared-network LOCAL-NET {
option domain-name "domain.tld";
option domain-name-servers 207.69.188.185, 207.69.188.186;

# wired network
subnet 192.168.1.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {
option routers 192.168.1.1;

range 192.168.1.32 192.168.1.127;
}
}

[/code:1:2b7576bb6c]

thedude
November 1st, 2003, 13:26
Thanks, that did it w/ moving the routers option and defining the interface for dhcpd to listen on. Can't believe I missed those. I'll probably do a clean isntall up to 3.4 tomorrow and let the OpenBSD servers rest a bit today :)
Busy supporting my favorite organizations today---joined the NRA, bought an OpenBSD shirt, and bought a Mandrake cd pack. Fun!

molotov
November 3rd, 2003, 11:55
I'm way outa my element.

thedude
November 8th, 2003, 11:27
"I'm way outa my element."

Huh?

Vile
November 29th, 2003, 01:18
Looks like DHCP is running on your external interface. Run it on your internal interface like

[code:1:5e1e8898d8]openbsd# dhcpd fxp0[/code:1:5e1e8898d8]
replace fxp0 with whatever your internal interface is then put that in your /etc/rc.conf with the -q option
The dhcp server should not care about your external anything.