endymion
November 22nd, 2004, 22:39
hi,

my first admission: i'm a freebsd novice. however, i have no problems delving deep into the man pages, handbooks, and how-tos to solve a problem. alas, i'm stuck and i humbly ask for your help.

i'm having trouble installing freebsd on a laptop. my laptop shuts down regardless of which mode (default, safe, etc.) i choose. because of this, i can't reach the kernel configuration menu.

i tried to disable acpi by following the instructions in the "Using and Debugging FreeBSD ACPI". SET hint.apic.0.disabled="1". it didn't work. i tried searching the freebsd mailing list, in which someone had a problem mirroring mine:

http://www.freebsd.org/cgi/getmsg.cgi?fetch=728542+731891+/usr/local/www/db/text/2004/freebsd-questions/20041114.freebsd-questions

the suggested solution was to disable acpi in bios. unfortunately, my laptop does not have the option to do this. also, i do not have a floppy drive, so that's unfortunately one fewer method to install freebsd.

on a side note, netbsd boots up just fine. still, it is my wish that i can get freebsd up and serving on my compaq presario r3210us. thanks!

elmore
November 22nd, 2004, 22:51
Hey endymion Welcome to SE! We're glad you're here. Unfortunately I don't have acompaq to test on but I'm sure someone will get to you reasonably quickly. What version of FreeBSD are you trying to install?

endymion
November 22nd, 2004, 22:59
elmore,

thanks for the cordial welcome. i'm trying to install version 5.3. in the mailing list, the gentleman mentioned that regardless of which version he used (3.5 - 5.3), he faced the same problem.

Strog
November 23rd, 2004, 01:17
I'm going to suggest all the usually hardware troubleshooting methods.

Disable everything you possibly can in the bios (parallel, serial, usb, plug&play, etc.) and try it again. If it works then you can systematically enable them until it breaks again.