February 28th, 2005, 02:03
"FSF President and founder, Richard Stallman, presents this year's award to Theo de Raadt.

For recognition as founder and project leader of the OpenBSD and OpenSSH projects. Theo de Raadt's work has also led to significant contributions to GNU/Linux and other BSD distributions. Of particular note is Theo's work on OpenSSH. Theo's leadership of OpenBSD, his selfless commitment to Free Software and his advancement of network security, were cited by this year's award committee.

Every year, three finalists are nominated for the award by the Free Software Community. This year's other two finalists were Andrew Tridgell, recognized for his work as the originator of the Samba Project, and Cesar Brod, recognized for his advocacy work and leadership for the advancement of Free Software in Brazil."