Kodo
July 25th, 2003, 17:29
Greetings. I have recently decided to expand my knowlege into the FreeBSD world after much time spent on the decision. Vlad902 pointed me here. In his quote to me when I told him of my decision he said

FreeBSD : Get 5.1, update ports (don't get ports from CD it's old as hell)

Would any of you care to explain what he was referring to when he says "update ports (don't get ports from CD it's old as hell)"?

additionally,I have adual P3 500 box that I want to install this on and after reading this post I'm befuzzled due to a "jargon" barrier.
http://screamingelectron.org/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=167

can anyone liquify that post for me?

Can anyone point me to an HCL for FreeBSD?

Be gentle and use jelly please, I'm very new to this side of the fence.

Kernel_Killer
July 25th, 2003, 18:00
WElcome to SE Kodo!

The ports are is the list of available packages for your OS. If you look in /usr/ports you will see a list of catagories, and in those folders is a long list of apps in those catagories. The list is updated about everyday, and applications become obsolete. Updating the ports, or "tree", makes those packages up to date. Don't take that the wrong way though. You don't really have the apps in the ports, just the ability to retrieve and install the applications in a very simple way. Hope that cleared something up. :P

v902
July 25th, 2003, 20:35